The new Constitution (2010) established the structure of the Kenya Government. According to Chapters eight, nine, ten and eleven, the Government of Kenya consists of the Executive, the Legislature, the Judiciary and the Devolved government.

The Executive

  • The national executive of the Republic comprises the President, the Deputy President and the Cabinet.
  • The President, Deputy President and Cabinet Secretaries are responsible for policy formulation and implementation across all sectors
  • The Executive authority is derived from the people of Kenya and shall be exercised in accordance with the Constitution.
  • The authority is exercised in a manner compatible with the principle of service to the people of Kenya, and for their well-being and benefit.

The Parliament

Kenyas Parliament consists of two houses: the National Assembly and the Senate.

The National Assembly is composed of 349 Members: 290 elected, 47 women representatives from counties and 12 nominated.

The Senate is made up of 67 members: 47 elected Members from each county, 16 nominated women and four individuals to represent the youth and persons with disabilities.

For further information on the Parliament, please click on the following link

The Judiciary

The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice and is divided into Superior Courts and Subordinate Courts. The Superior Courts are: the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal and the High Court. The Supreme Court is the highest court in Kenya. The Subordinate Courts are: the Magistrates Courts, the Kadhi Courts, the Courts Martial and the Tribunals.

For further information on the Parliament, please click on the following link

The Devolved Government

The Kenyan Constitution established 47 Counties, each with its own county government. The County governments consist of the County assembly and the County executive. The County Governor is the head of the County executive.

National Anthem

National Anthem Coming soon...