Covid-19 Information

Country-Specific Information

Malaysia has implemented entry and movement restrictions on all foreign nationals in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. For up-to-date numbers on COVID-19 cases in Malaysia, please consult the Ministry of Health’s website.

Entry and Exit Requirements:

Under travel restrictions announced on March 16 and extended on March 25, all foreign nationals, with very limited exceptions, are restricted from entry to Malaysia until April 14, though this end date may be further extended at the discretion of the Malaysian government. Foreign nationals may transit through Malaysian ports of entry as long as they are not required to pass through immigration within Malaysia while in transit. All those arriving in the country from international destinations, including Malaysian citizens, are required to undergo a 14-day quarantine and health inspection. Foreign nationals are permitted to depart the country; however flight options are increasingly limited. Malaysian citizens with a foreign residence permit, including American Lawful Permanent Residents, are allowed to depart, but will not be able to return until after April 14. All travelers should be prepared for additional travel restrictions to be put into effect with little or no advance notice. Travelers should closely monitor the situation in Malaysia and other transit countries before travel.

From March 18 to April 14 the Malaysian government has implemented a general prohibition of movement and mass assembly within Malaysia including religious, sports, social and cultural activities. All houses of worship and business premises will be closed, except for supermarkets, public markets, grocery stores and stores and department stores selling everyday necessities. All schools and universities, both private and public, will also be closed. All government and private services except those involved in essential services such as water, electricity, power, telecommunications, postal, transportation, fuel, finance, banking, health, pharmacy, fire, port, airport, security, retail and food supply will also be closed. Interstate travel within Malaysia will be restricted and may require preapproval by the Royal Malaysian Police.

Additional travel restrictions apply for travel to the East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak which have local autonomy over immigration at domestic and international ports of entry, and these states are also observing the same restrictions as the federal government through April 14. All travelers from Peninsular Malaysia will required to undergo a 14-day quarantine upon arrival within Sarawak and Sabah.

Screening points are present at all international entry points, including air, land, and sea routes.


The state of Sabah has canceled all flights from China and South Korea. Sabah has imposed temporary restrictions on all foreign nationals and non-Sabah residents from entering the states. Long term visa holders may be admitted but will be required to self-quarantine at home for 14 days.


The state of Sarawak has canceled all flights from China. Sarawak has imposed temporary restrictions on all foreign nationals and non-Sarawak residents. Long term visa holders may be admitted but will be required to self-quarantine at home for 14 days.

Quarantine Information:

Travelers presenting fevers or other symptoms may be subject to quarantine. Malaysia has designated specific hospitals in each state to process suspected or confirmed COVID-19 cases. Quarantine will generally last 14 days. Asymptomatic passengers otherwise considered high risk may be asked to self-quarantine at home for 14 days.

Local Resources:

Information regarding COVID-19 in Malaysia can be found at the websites of the Prime Minister’s Office and the Ministry of Health, as well as Ministry of Health social media accounts:

The Ministry of Health, in collaboration with Doctor On Call, has set up a platform to disseminate information on COVID-19 in Malaysia, including a list of designated public hospitals in each state that are equipped to screen for COVID-19*.