About the High Commission 2017-04-15T04:09:46+00:00

Diplomatic relations between Kenya and Malaysia were established in 1963, while that of Kenya and Indonesia began in 1979. Relations with the Philippines began in 1967; and in 2008, Kenya established diplomatic relations with Brunei Darussalam.

The Kenya High Commission in Kuala Lumpur was opened in May 1997 under an “Agreement on Economic, Scientific, Technical and Cultural Cooperation’’ and  Mission accredited to Indonesia, Philippines, and Brunei.

The Mission’s mandate is to articulate and implement Kenya’s foreign policy in countries of accreditation. Our foreign policy objective include promoting Kenya’s  national interests and image, strengthening economic diplomacy, promoting peace and environmental diplomacy and providing consular services.

The Mission is currently staffed with five (5) home-based officers and six (6) local staff.


To be a world class Diplomatic Mission in pursuit of Kenya’s National interests in the countries of accreditation and South East Asia Region.


To advance the interests of Kenyans through innovative diplomacy.

 Previous High Commissioners
1. H.E. Samori Ang’wa Okwiya ( August 2010   December 2015)
2. H.E. David Gachoki Njoka ( April 2004 July 2010)
3. H.E. James Kihiu Karuga ( May 1997 April, 2004)